COMMISSIONER OF INCOME TAX vs. CAMA MOTORS PVT.LTD.

PDF · subscribers
ITR/147/1989HC GujaratGJHC24012927198907 April 1998Author: HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE R.K.ABICHANDANI,HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE KUNDAN SINGH4 pages
AI SummaryPartly Allowed

What did the High Court hold?

The High Court held that the Tribunal was correct in answering both questions in favour of the assessee. Regarding the first issue, the Court affirmed the Tribunal's decision that Section 43B would not apply to the unpaid sales tax of Rs. 9,68,948/-. This was based on the Supreme Court's decision in *Allied Motors (P) Ltd. vs. CIT*, which established the retrospective nature of the first proviso to Section 43B. The Court reiterated that if the liability is paid on or before the due date for furnishing the return of income, it is treated as paid in the previous year of incurrence. For the second issue, the Court found no error in the Tribunal's holding that the personal accident insurance premium was not a perquisite. Relying on *CIT vs. Lala Shridhar*, the Tribunal reasoned that the policy was taken out by the company, and it was not shown to be the director's personal desire or obligation to pay the premium. The amount involved was small (Rs. 913/-). The reference was disposed of accordingly.

What were the facts?

This case involves an Income Tax Reference filed by the Commissioner of Income Tax against Cama Motors Pvt. Ltd. for assessment year 1984-85. The reference concerns two questions of law referred by the Income-tax Appellate Tribunal, Ahmedabad. The first issue pertains to the disallowance of Rs. 9,68,948/- as unpaid sales tax under Section 43B. The Income Tax Officer (ITO) and Commissioner of Income-tax (Appeals) disallowed the deduction, but the Tribunal allowed it, finding that the assessee paid the amount before the due date. The second issue relates to whether personal accident insurance premium paid by the company for its director constitutes a perquisite. The Tribunal held it did not, relying on a Delhi High Court decision.

What were the issues?

1. Whether the Appellate Tribunal is right in law and on facts in holding that Section 43B cannot be applied to the amount of Rs. 9,68,948/- being unpaid sales tax? - Assessee's contention: The assessee argued that the sales tax was paid before the due date for filing the return of income, making it deductible. The Tribunal accepted this. The judgment notes this is concluded by the Supreme Court in *Allied Motors (P) Ltd. vs. CIT* and the Gujarat High Court in *CIT vs. Chandulal Venchand*, which held the first proviso to Section 43B retrospective. - Revenue's contention: The revenue, through the ITO and CIT(A), disallowed the deduction, holding that since the amount was paid in the subsequent financial year, it could not be allowed under Section 43B. 2. Whether the Appellate Tribunal is right in law and on facts in holding that personal accident insurance premium cannot be treated as a perquisite? - Assessee's contention: The Tribunal held that the premium was not a perquisite, relying on *CIT vs. Lala Shridhar*. The judgment implies the assessee did not contend it was their obligation or desire to take the policy. - Revenue's contention: The revenue likely argued that the premium paid by the company for the director's personal accident insurance constituted a benefit or perquisite to the director, potentially falling under Section 40(C). The judgment does not explicitly record the revenue's arguments on this point, but it addresses the nature of the policy and who bore the obligation.

Which sections of the Income-tax Act were involved?

Section 43B,Section 139(1),Section 40(C)

AI-generated summary — verify with the full judgment below

IN THE HIGH COURT OF GUJARAT AT AHMEDABAD

INCOME TAX REFERENCE No 147 of 1989

For Approval and Signature:

Hon'ble MR.JUSTICE R.K.ABICHANDANI and MR.JUSTICE KUNDAN SINGH ============================================================ 1. Whether Reporters of Local Papers may be allowed to see the judgements?

2.

To be referred to the Reporter or not?

3.

Whether Their Lordships wish to see the fair copy of the judgement?

4.

Whether this case involves a substantial question of law as to the interpretation of the Constitution of India, 1950 of any Order made thereunder?

5.

Whether it is to be circulated to the Civil Judge?

-------------------------------------------------------------- COMMISSIONER OF INCOME TAX Versus CAMA MOTORS PVT.LTD. -------------------------------------------------------------- Appearance: MR MANISH R BHATT for Petitioner MR Manish Shah for Mr. JP SHAH for the Respondent

--------------------------------------------------------------

CORAM : MR.JUSTICE R.K.ABICHANDANI and MR.JUSTICE KUNDAN SINGH Date of decision: 07/04/98

ORAL JUDGEMENT

(Per R.K.Abichandani,J)

The Income-tax Appellate Tribunal, Ahmedabad has referred the following two questions to this High Court for its opinion under section 256(1) of the Income-tax Act, 1961. "

1.

Whether the Appellate Tribunal is right in law and on facts in holding that section 43B cannot be applied to the amount of Rs. 9,68,948/- being unpaid sales tax ?

2.

Whether the Appellate Tribunal is right in law and on facts in holding that personal accident insurance premium cannot be treated as a perquisite ?"

2.

As regards the question no. 1, the assessee had, in his note to the statement of income showed sales tax payable of Rs. 9,68,948/- in the assessment year 1984-85. The ITO held that since the amount was paid in the subsequent financial year of 1984-85, the amount could not be allowed in view of the provisions of section 43B of the Act. The Commissioner of Income-tax (Appeals) income under sub-section (1) of section 139 in respect of the Supreme Court in Allied Motors's case. In CIT vs. Chandulal Venichand, this Court while construing the provisions of section 43B had taken the view that the proviso to section 43B related back to the date when section 43B came into operation i.e. April 1,1984. The Court on that basis held that such liability would be allowable as a deduction provided the assessee established that it was discharged by actual payment before the date applicable in his case for furnishing the return of income under section 139(1) in respect of relevant previous year in which the liability had been incurred. In view of this settled legal position, we hold that the Tribunal was right in holding that since the assessee had paid the amount before the due date, section 43B would not operate against the assessee. The question no. 1 is therefore, answered accordingly in the affirmative in favour of the assessee.

3.

The second question relates to the payment of insurance premium by the company for its director for whom personal accident insurance policy was taken out. Both the sides had taken sufficient time to produce a copy of the policy, but they have said that no such policy is traceable. The question whether a premium paid for the policy taken out for the Managing Director would constitute benefit to the director within the meaning of section 40(C) or not would depend upon the nature of the policy, who had taken it out and whose obligation was it to pay the premium. If the intention of the company had by taking out such policy of insuring the director against personal accident, was in fact, to insure itself in respect of the liability that may arise towards the director,as a result of accident, then that situation would be different from a director himself taking out a personal accident insurance under which he would be obliged to pay the premium and not the company. If such premiums are reimbursed to the director which is an obligation of the director himself to pay and not that of the company qua the insurance company, then that would amount to benefit to the director. The Tribunal has applied the decision of the Delhi High Court in CIT vs.Lala Shridhar, reported in 84 ITR, 192 for allowing expenditure of insurance premium on the footing that the facts of the present case as regards the nature of the insurance policy were similar. In Lala Shridhar's case, it was noted that the act of taking out of insurance policy was not a voluntary act of the director and the decision to take the policy was taken by the company. It was the duty of the employer-company in that case to pay the premium in respect of the insurance policy and there was nothing on the record to show that the assessee (in that case, the director) himself wanted to take out an insurance policy. In the present case also, it is not shown that the director himself wanted to take out the insurance or that it was his own obligation to pay the premium and in fact no such contention seems to have been canvassed before the lower authorities. The amount of premium involved was Rs. 913/- only. We do not find any error of law committed by the Tribunal in holding that the personal accident insurance premium was not meant to be a benefit or perquisite in favour of the director. The question no. 2 is therefore, answered in the affirmative in favour of the assessee and against the revenue. The Reference stands disposed of accordingly with no order as to costs.

.....

***darji

More judgments on Section 43B

All 7,161 judgments and leading authorities on Section 43B →

Recent GST High Court judgments

Search GST case law →