ARYA ELECTRONICS AND CONTROL (P) LTD,PUNE vs. DCIT, CIRCLE 1(1), PUNE, PMT BUILDING SWARGATE
What did the Tribunal hold?
The Tribunal held that the insurance policy was not a Keyman Insurance Policy and the benefits were not payable to the assessee company. Since the premium was not added as perquisites in the hands of the directors, the expenditure was not allowable as a business expenditure under Section 37(1).
What were the facts?
The assessee company claimed deduction for insurance premiums paid on an 'Employer Long Term Reward Policy' taken in the names of its directors. The Assessing Officer disallowed this claim, stating it was not a Keyman Insurance Policy and the benefits would go to legal heirs, not the company. The CIT(A) upheld this disallowance.
What were the issues?
Whether the insurance premium paid for a long-term reward policy taken on directors' lives is a deductible business expenditure. Whether the reassessment proceedings initiated were valid, particularly concerning the change of opinion and lack of proper approval.
Which sections of the Income-tax Act were involved?
Section 37(1),Section 147,Section 148,Section 151,Section 271(1)(c)
AI-generated summary — verify with the full judgment below
Income Tax Appellate Tribunal, PUNE BENCHES “A”, PUNE
Before: DR.MANISH BORAD & SHRI VINAY BHAMORE
PER DR. MANISH BORAD, ACCOUNTANT MEMBER :
The captioned appeals at the instance of assessee pertaining to A.Yrs. 2013-14 to 2015-16 are directed against the separate orders of National Faceless Appeal Centre, Delhi passed u/s.250 of the Income-tax Act, 1961 (hereinafter also called ‘the Act’) arising out of respective Assessment orders passed u/s.147 r.w.s.144 of the Act.
Common issues is raised by the assessee in these bunch of appeals. We therefore proceed to dispose of by this consolidated order for the sake of convenience.
We will first take up ITA No.1826/PUN/2025 for A.Y. 2013-14 as the lead case. Assessee has raised following grounds of appeal :
“Grounds of Appeal: - General Ground
On the facts and Circumstances of the case and in law the LD AO has erred in assessing the total income at Rs.1,07,38,877 as against the returned income of Rs.86,38,877. Disallowance of Insurance Premium on Employer Long Term Reward Policy for following:
On the facts and in the circumstances of the case and in law the Ld. Commissioner of Income Tax (Appeals) - NFAC, Delhi has erred in upholding the disallowance made by the LD Assessing Officer of the expenditure of Rs. 21 lakhs claimed by the assessee towards Employer Long Term Reward Policy
On the facts and in the circumstances of the case and in law the Ld. Commissioner of Income Tax (Appeals) - NFAC, Delhi has not considered the fact that the expenditure incurred was towards employee benefits and within the ambit of Employer Long Term Reward Program for Employee which is incurred for furtherance of business.
On the facts and in the circumstances of the case and in law the Ld. Commissioner of Income Tax (Appeals) -NFAC, Delhi is not justified in opining that the assessee has not included no other employees of the assessee in the scheme, hence, it is exclusively for Directors and therefore, not an admissible expenditure u/s 37 of the Income Tax Act, 1961. 5. On the facts and in the circumstances of the case and in law the Ld. Commissioner of Income Tax (Appeals) - NFAC, Delhi is not justified in concluding that as the assessee has not considered the insurance premium as perquisites in the hands of the concerned Directors, no deduction can be granted for insurance premiums paid by the assessee.
The LD AO and Ld CIT (A) have disregarded all the settled legal principles for allowability of business expenditure incurred for welfare of employees. Validity of Notice
On the facts and in the circumstances of the case and in law the notice u/s 148 of the Act is not accompanied with an approval u/s 151 of the Income Tax Act, 1961. In view of this, the notice may kindly be held as bad in law and resultantly whole reassessment proceedings may kindly be held as invalid and bad in law.
On the facts and in the circumstances of the case and in law in view of the Ground No. 7 the material on record is absent to ascertain the validity of the approval. Initiation of penalty proceedings u/s 271(1)(c)
On the facts and in the circumstances of the case and in law the Ld. AO has erred in initiating the penalty proceedings u/s 271(1)(c) of the Income Tax Act. 1961 for furnishing inaccurate particulars of income. Levy of consequential interest
On the facts and in the circumstances of the case and in law the Ld. AO has erred in levying interest u/s 234A, 2348 & 23C of the Income Tax Act, 1961. The assessee prays to add, amend, alter, withdraw or delete the grounds of appeal raised above during the appellate proceedings in the interest of natural justice.
1 Assessee has also raised additional grounds of appeal which reads as under :
“Disallowance of insurance claim is not justified in reassessment as it amounts to change of opinion - Ground of appal no. 12 is in continuation of original grounds of appeal 1 to 11
On the facts and circumstances of the case and in law the proceeding U/s 147 is bad in law vis-à-vis the disallowance of claim of insurance premium of Rs. 21,00,000 on "Employee Long-Term Reward Policy". The claim was allowed in the first year ie. AY 2012- 13 in scrutiny assessment after examining the claim. There being no change in the facts and law the Ld. AO erred in disallowing the claim which amounts to change of opinion. The reopening may kindly be held as bad in law following the judicial precedents.”
Facts of the case in brief are that the assessee is a company engaged in the business of Manufacturing Electronic components. Income of Rs.86,38,877/- declared in the return of income for A.Y. 2013-14 filed on 29.09.2013. Return has been processed u/s.143(1) of the Act. Subsequently, case of the assessee reopened u/s.148 of the Act based on the scrutiny assessment taken up for A.Y. 2016-17 on the issue of disallowability of expenses to the tune of Rs.21,00,000/- under the head ‘Employee benefit expenses’, Ld. Assessing Officer had reason to believe that income escaped assessment. Notice u/s.148 of the Act issued recording the reasons and in response to which the assessee furnished the details stating that the company had taken the insurance policy in the names of three Directors from The HDFC Standard Life Company Ltd. and paid the insurance premium against the Long Term Reward Insurance at Rs.7.00 lach each totalling to Rs.21,00,000/-. It is submitted that on the very same issue in A.Y. 2012-13 the assessee was subjected to scrutiny and vide order passed u/s.143(3) of the Act dated 13.02.2015, ld. Assessing Officer has accepted the premium paid on insurance of life of three of its Directors @ Rs.7.00 lakh each totalling to Rs.21.00 lakh and allowed the claim of deduction u/s.37(1) of the Act. The assessment for A.Y. 2012-13 has attained finality and no further action either u/s.263 of the Act or any other law was taken and raising the same issue amounts to ‘change of opinion”. Further, explaining the features of the insurance policy, relying on judicial precedents, raising the legal issue that the assessment year is barred by limitation as the notice u/s.148 of the Act has been issued beyond four years and proper sanction u/s.151 of the Act is not available, change of opinion etc., the assessee refuted the allegations of Assessing Officer and stated that the assessee has rightly claimed it as business expenditure u/s.37(1) of the Act. However, ld.
Assessing Officer was not convinced with the reply of the assessee and made addition of Rs.21,00,000/- to the returned income on the ground that the policies taken are not Keyman Insurance Policies and the policy claims arising after the death of life assured are not going to give any benefit to the assessee company as the claim proceeds will be paid to legal heirs appointed at the option of the policy holders. Relevant portion of the finding of ld. Assessing Officer in the case of Pratibha Prasad Bhagwat reads as under :
“7. The assessee has also submitted the policy document as an attachment to the above reply. Vide notice u/s 142(1) dated 26.04.2021, the assessee was asked to file ITR in response to notice u/s 148. In reply, the assessee has re-iterated his earlier submissions but has not filed any ITR in response to notice u/s 148. Based on the facts and circumstances of the case, the assessment is being completed u/s 144 to the best of judgment as per information available on record.
The assessee has stated that the action invoked of reopening of the assessments under section 147 for A.Y. 2013-14, 2014-15 and 2015-16 is a result of "change of opinion" which is not permissible in law based on the fact that no such issue was raised in the assessment proceedings for the AY 2012-13. However, it is well settled that the principle of res judicata or estoppel by record, which applies to decisions of Civil Courts, has no application to decisions of IT Authorities. As a general rule, the principle of res judicata is not applicable to decisions of IT Authorities and it is for this reason that an assessment for a particular year is final and conclusive between the parties only in relation to that year. Decisions given in assessment for an earlier year are not binding either on the assessee or the Department in a subsequent year.
Further, the judicial pronouncements cited by the assessee are not applicable to the extant case since the facts of the cases are different. In CIT v. Associated Electrical Industries (India) (Pvt) Ltd. (1986) 157 ITR 72 (SC), the assessee had treated the payment as part of the salary and had also deducted TDS. However, in the present case, the assessee has stated that the payment of insurance premia could not be called perquisites taxable under S. 1/(2) and any of its clauses as the scheme benefits cannot be called free of cost or any profit in lieu of salary. The decisions in Hon'ble CIT v. Chandulal Keshavlci (1960) 38 ITR 601 (SC) and CIT v. Royal Calcutta Turf Club (1961) 41 ITR 414 (SC) are also not applicable since the benefit to the third party is not incidental in this case. The Arya Electronics & Control (Pvt.) Ltd.
policy has been designed to provide benefit to the employees if they remain loyal to the company.
It is also to be noted here that policies have been taken out by the company only for the three directors and no other employee. Thus, it is clear that the intention was to provide undue benefits to only the directors who are the decision makers in the company and no such benefit was provided to any other employee. Thus, the assessee's argument that the sole intention of the scheme was to promote wellbeing of the employees and to promote loyalty is not justified.
From the careful perusal of the Insurance policy documents under consideration, submitted by the assessee company with regard to the Long Term Reward (Insurance) of Rs. 21,00,000/- premium claimed to be paid by the company, in the case of Mrs Pratibha Prasad Bhagwat and Mrs Manjiri Shirish Puntambekar, following has been seen: POLICY TAKEN IN THE NAME OF PRATIBHA PRASAD BHAGWAT
As per Insurance policy document i.e. confirmation of assignment letter dated 19.04.2012 of HDFC (HDFC SL ProGrowth Flexi), pages policy document, even after the confirmation of assignment, the LIFE ASSURED is Mrs Pratibha Prasad Bhagwat and NOMINEE is Mr Prasad Mahadeo Bhagwat ie, the assessee company is not a beneficiary at all. The ultimate beneficiary in the case of any mis- happening to the Policy Holder is the Nominee Shri Prasad Mahadeo Bhagwat only. Hence, keeping this fact under consideration, it is proved that the policy is purchased by Mrs Pratibha Prasad Bhagwat in her individual capacity and not by the assessee company with undisputed nominee/beneficiary Mr Prasad Mahadeo Bhagwat and not the assessee company and hence certainly not a "Keyman Insurance Policy" taken by the assessee company for the benefit of keyman.
From the careful perusal of the policy Proposal form duly filled in & signed by Smt Pratibha Prasad Bhagwat following is observed: i. On the face of proposal form, the policy is mentioned as "UNIT LINKED PROPOSAL FORM" at pages policy document, which proved that the policy is not a Life Insurance policy. ii. In the column (appears on policy document pages proposal form), the nominee is Prasad Mahadeo Bhagwat (Husband of Life assured Smt Pratibha Prasad Bhagwat). Further, on pages policy document, the signature is done by Smt Pratibha Prasad Bhagwat in the column of "signature/Thumb impression of the life to be assured and the column "signature/Thumb Impression of proposed policyholder (only if different from the life to be assured)" is kept blank. Hence, keeping this fact under consideration, it is proved that neither the proposer nor the ultimate beneficiary of the Arya Electronics & Control (Pvt.) Ltd.
insurance policy is the assessee company. Hence, the policy has certainly not bears the character of a "Keyman Insurance Policy". iii. As per point 3, pages policy document of proposal form, in the details of "Nature of Age Proof attached", is mentioned as "Passport". Since, a company cannot have a passport, it is evident that the proposer is an individual. Hence, keeping this fact under consideration, it is proved that the proposer of the insurance policy is not the assessee company as claimed and hence not bears the character of a "Keyman Insurance Policy". iv. From the perusal of "Endorsement on the Policy document" pages clause 'a' of policy document, it is seen that it is clearly mentioned that "If I continue to remain in employment with the company for the minimum lock in period specified under the "long term reward Program", this insurance policy shall be compulsorily reassigned absolutely by the company in my favor". This clause clearly established that the policy will be compulsorily reassigned absolutely by the company in the favour of Pratibha Prasad Bhagwat after the minimum lock in period. In other words, the company has duly claimed the huge amount of premium for the policy, meant exclusively, for the personal benefits of the Directors and afterwards re-assign the same to the actual director taking the policy. v. From the perusal of "Endorsement on the Policy document" pages clause 'b' of policy document, it is seen that it is clearly mentioned that "In case of termination of employment for reasons other than death, the company will surrender the policy to HDFC Standard Life Insurance Co Ltd for the then surrender value (if any) or absolutely reassign the policy to me as part of the terminal benefits at the sole discretion of the company". This clause clearly established that the policy will be absolutely reassign in favour of Pratibha Prasad Bhagwat in the case of termination of employment for reason other than death. vi. From the perusal of "Endorsement on the Policy document" pages clause 'c' of policy document, it is seen that it is clearly mentioned that "During the minimum lock in period in case of claim arising due to death; the claim proceeds will be paid to the legal heirs appointed by me, as per the company records". This clause clearly established that the policy claim arising after the death of life assured will not going to benefit the company as all the claim proceeds will be paid to legal heirs appointed at the option of Pratibha Prasad Bhagwat. vii. From the perusal of "Endorsement on the Policy document" pages clause 'd' of policy document, it is seen that it is clearly mentioned that "During the minimum lock in period in case of claim arising due to critical illness, the same would become payable to me". This clause clearly established that the policy claim arising due to critical illness of life assured will not going to benefit the Arya Electronics & Control (Pvt.) Ltd.
company as all the claim proceeds will be paid to Pratibha Prasad Bhagwat. viii. From the perusal of "Endorsement on the Policy document" pages clause 'e' of policy document, it is seen that it is clearly mentioned that "During the minimum lock in period the policy cannot be surrendered, pledged or withdrawn for any other reason other than the one mentioned in point (b)" This clause clearly established that the policy cannot be surrendered, pledged or withdrawn by the company for any other reason other than as mentioned in point (b) i.e. the company has no right/ownership on the policy in the case of termination of employment of Pratibha Prasad Bhagwat. Hence, the conditions/explanation as per points (i) to (viii) are designed/framed in such a manner that the policy benefits will not going to benefit the assessee company under any circumstances.
Aggrieved assessee filed appeal before ld.CIT(A) but failed to succeed. Now the assessee has approached the Tribunal assailing the impugned order passed by ld.CIT(A).
Ld. Counsel for the assessee vehemently argued drawing the attention of the Bench to the written submissions which reads as follows :
“Supplementary Note summarizing the contentions of the appellant For the consideration of the Hon'ble Bench:
In the above refereed matters, the issue is only allowability of insurance premium u/s 37 on the insurance policy issued by HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company called as "Employer Employee Long Term Reward Program for employees" (for herein after referred as insurance policy). Filing of documents on various dates
In the preceding hearings the appellant has filed common factual paper book for all the above three appeals containing pages from 1- 611 filed on 14.10.2025. The appellant has filed legal paper book from page no. 612-653, fact sheet from page no. 654-666 and consolidated appeal chart. Then the appellant has filed additional grounds of appeal on 09.12.2025. Arya Electronics & Control (Pvt.) Ltd.
Ld. DR written submission
The Ld. DR has also submitted his return submission vide his note dated 11.12.2025 for the hearing which was scheduled on 08.01.2026. Proceeding on 08.01.2026
On 08.01.2026 the Hon'ble Bench has noted that the appeal for AY 2016-17, during the course of which the issue was first time raised by the department for the impugned disallowance of insurance premium on the insurance policy and based on that the assessment for AY 203-14 to AY 2015-16 was reopened, the matter is still pending before the Ld. CIT(A) and therefore, the matter was adjourned to 30.03.2026. Submission of the appellant through this supplementary note
At the outset the appellant submits that additional ground no. 12 is to be taken up first for the adjudication.
As per this additional ground it is submitted that the disputed premium of Rs. 21,00,000 was paid for the first time in the AY 2012-
Your Honour's attention is invited to the audited accounts of AY 2012-13 on page no. 247-248 of the paper book where under schedule no. 9 giving the particulars of "Employee Benefits Expenses" the company has debited Rs. 21,00,000 as expenses. During the scrutiny assessment of AY 2012-13, the issue of deductibility of said expenses was raised by Ld. AO. The appellant has submitted reply to the question raised by Ld. AO which can be referred at page no. 244 of the factual paper book. Vide this submission dated 29.10.2014, the appellant has submitted justification for allowability of the said claim. The Ld. AO has accepted the claim and passed assessment order u/s 143(3) dated 13.02.2015 which is enclosed in the factual paper book at page no. 235-243. From the assessment order it can be seen that the Ld. AO has made the disallowance only u/s 14A and has not made any disallowance on the impugned claim which is disputed in the present appeal.
It is submitted that if in the preceding year in the same set of facts the claim was allowed in the scrutiny assessment then in AY 2013-14 to AY 2015-16 disallowance by resorting to section 147 amounts to change of opinion and the reassessment is unjustified. If this ground is adjudicated in favor of the assesse then all other issues in the impugned appeals will be academic.
The Ld. AO in the assessment order for AY 2013-14 to AY 2015- 16 while recording the reasons for reopening is only referring to claim of Rs. 21,00,000 starting from AY 2013-14. While the material on record indicates that the department has scrutinized the claim in AY 2012-13. Therefore, the reasons recorded ignored that similar deduction was claimed, questioned and then allowed in AY 2012-
In subsequent year AY 2013-14 to AY 2015-16 the succeeding Ld. AO was of the view that this deduction is not allowable. This fact shows there was a difference of opinion among the two officers while deciding assesses eligibility to claim a particular deduction when the facts and law remained unchanged. From this aspect, it will be appreciated that the difference of opinion among the Ld. AO's cannot be causa-causance for assuming juri iction by issuing notice u/s 148. 9. Without prejudice to the above the following contentions may kindly be considered on merits of the case. 10.The Ld. AO has held that for the following reasons the claim is not allowable:
The principal of res-judicata/estoppel by record is not applicable to the decisions of IT authorities.
The decisions referred by the assessee are not applicable as the benefit to the third party is not incidental in this case.
The assessee has not considered the said payment of insurance premium as a perquisites u/s 17(2) or profits in lieu of salary.
The intention was to provide benefit to the directors only and no other employees are covered under the scheme.
The said policy is not the Keyman Insurance Policy.
The company is neither the proposer of the policy nor the beneficiary.
The policy will be reassigned to the employee if the minimum lock in period is served.
The policy will be reassigned in case of termination of employment other then death as a terminal benefits and it will be at the sole discretion of the company.
In case of the death during the minimum lock in period the maturity proceeds will be paid to the legal heirs of the employee directors.
During the minimum lock in period claim arising due to critical illness the proceeds will be paid to the employee directors.
During the lock in period the policy cannot be surrendered or pledged or withdrawn.
The Ld. AO has concluded that in view of the various conditions and explanations and the manner in which the policy is framed will not going to benefit to the assessee company under any circumstances and therefore, the Ld. AO has disallowed the claim.
In view of the above first the following submission may kindly be considered for why it should not treated as perquisites u/s 17(2) or profit in lieu of salary in the present assessment years. 11.Interplay of Section 15 and Section 17(2): The learned Assessing Officer's (Ld. AO) contention that the insurance premium paid by the company should be treated as a perquisite under Section 17(2), and thereby subject to TDS, is unsustainable in law. For an amount to be taxed as a perquisite under Section 17(2), it must first satisfy the criteria of Section 15, which is the charging section for 'Salary'. Under Section 15, salary is chargeable to tax only when it is due, paid, or allowed to the employee.
Absence of Accrual or Vested Right: In the present context, the benefit of the policy becomes 'due' or 'allowed to the employee only upon the successful completion of a five-year lock-in period of employment. Prior to this event, no benefit accrues to the employee. Furthermore, the premium is not paid to the employee, but rather to the insurance company under a specific corporate policy contract. The taxable event will only crystallize after the employee fulfils the five-year service condition.
The Test of Enforceability: The fundamental principle of taxation is that income must be earned; it cannot be merely presumed. Unless the right to receive an income is firmly established, creating a tax charge is premature. This can be tested through a practical hypothesis: if the concerned employee were to resign today, could they legally enforce payment or claim the benefits of the said policy from the company? Based on the terms of the policy, the answer is clearly 'No'. Because the employee holds no enforceable right over the policy during the lock-in period, the Ld. AO is entirely unjustified in treating the premium as a perquisite under Section 17(2). Revenue has no case if the benefit cannot be legally enforced by the employee. 14.Reliance on Judicial Precedent: In support of the above contentions, the appellant heavily relies on the ratio laid down by the Hon'ble Supreme Court in the landmark case of E.D. Sassoon & Co. Ltd. Vs. CIT [1954] 26 ITR 27 (SC). Your Honour will appreciate the settled legal principle from this judgement: unless the right to receive income is established, the income is not chargeable to tax. As the employee's right to receive the policy benefits has not yet come into existence, the issue must be decided in favor of the assessee." Principal of consistency and res-judicata 15.It is submitted that baring these 3 assessment years and AY 2016-17 which is pending before Hon'ble CIT(A), NFAC, from AY 2017-18 till AY 2025-26 the returned income has been accepted u/s 143(1). The company has continued the impugned policy and has been paying the premium. The claim has been allowed as the returns are accepted u/s 143(1). Following the principal of Arya Electronics & Control (Pvt.) Ltd.
consistency the claim may kindly be allowed. The reliance is placed on the decision of Hon'ble Supreme Court decision in case of Radhasoami Satsang vs. CIT [1992] 60 Taxman 248 (SC). 16.It is submitted that the Ld. CIT(A) has held that the assessments for impugned years were completed u/s 143(1) and not u/s 143(3) and therefore, the assumption of juri iction u/s 147 and 148 is valid. 17.It is submitted that the department is wrongly saying that the claim was made in AY 2013-14 and assessment was done u/s 143(1). While the record indicates that the first year in which the claim was made and allowed was AY 2012-13 and it was scrutiny assessment. Therefore, the basic foundation for recording reasons for reopening and for subsequent reassessment has no legs to stand.
Without prejudice it is submitted that in certain circumstances the company is the beneficiary especially if the lock in period is not served by the employee director. Only in case of serving minimum period, death of employee director or in case of terminal benefits at the discretion of the company, the employee director will be beneficiary. 19.In view of this it is submitted that the claim is deductible u/s 37. Rejoinder to note submitted by Ld. DR on 11.12.2025 for the hearing which was scheduled on 08.01.2026. 20. The Ld. DR after discussing the facts and features of the policy has relied upon following two decisions:
Allu Arvind Babu vs ACIT Circle 20(1) Chennai 122 Taxmann.com 66 (Madras High Court). This decision is not relevant in the facts of the case. In this decision the issue before the Hon'ble high Court of Madras was whether the surrender value of assigned Keyman insurance Policy which was added in the hands of appellant and held as not exempt u/s 10(10D) of the act. Therefore, this issue does not deal with the allowability of expenditure u/s 37. In view of this the reliance placed by the Ld. DR is misplaced and may kindly be rejected.
The second decision relied upon by the Ld. DR is of Hon'ble ITAT of Ahmedabad in case of Mahendra Patel Builders Pvt. Ltd. vs DCIT (2025) 177 Taxmann.com 302 (Ahmedabad). The Tribunal has held as follows: a. That the insurance premium was paid for endowment life insurance policy which was taken in the name of directors and family members. b. The Ld. AO has disallowed expenditure u/s 37(i) as the policies were issued in the personal name of the directors. The Ld. CIT(A) has confirmed disallowance that the policy was not Keyman Insurance Policy and the assesse has failed to establish that the expenditure was incurred wholly and exclusively for the purpose of business. c. The Hon'ble Tribunal has held as under: (i) The authorities cannot reject expenditure solely on the basis of terminology and the form used in the insurance documentation. The weightage has to be given on the substance of the transaction and underlying commercial rational. The purpose of the policy needs to be considered. (ii) The Hon'ble Tribunal has referred to CBDT circular no. 762 dated 18.02.1998, where it was clarified that premium paid on Keyman Insurance Policy is allowable u/s 37(1). (iii) It was undisputed that insured persons were directors and were engaged in core management and affairs of the company. (iv) The policy was taken to safeguard the potential financial loss arising from untimely death of key personal. It was held that just because the policies were issued on the lives of the director purely in their capacity as key persons. In such circumstances it does not render the expenditure as personal expenditure. (v) It was held that there is the employee-employer relationship. For business protection there is no statutory bar to treat the premium paid as deductible as expenses u/s 37(1). (vi) The premium is paid to mitigate the business risk and not to provide any personal benefits. (vii) The type of policy is not a bar to treat it as Keyman Insurance Policy for the purpose of section 37(1). The purpose and structure of policy is important. (viii) The substance over form approach should be adopted. If the company is the proposer, the beneficiary and the policies on the life of person whose services integral to the business the expenditure qualifies for deduction u/s 37(1). (ix) The Ld. AO's objection that the assesse company is 100% owned by directors and their family members and therefore, the insurance premium is for personal purpose and not for business is rejected. It was held that the company is a distinct legal entity separate from shareholders and directors and therefore, the claim cannot be disallowed. (x) The nomenclature in proposal forms are formalistic and technical and cannot override the commercial realities.
(xi) The commercial expediency a premium paid hinge upon beneficiary ownership and benefit remaining with the company unless there is a assignment. (xii) When the policy is assigned to the director the benefit ceases to accrue to the company and the policy becomes personal in nature which disentitles the employer for claiming the deduction u/s 37(1). (xiii) Where the assignments of the policy to the director is accompanied by due treatment of benefits arising there from taxable perquisites and the surrender value or the maturity value received as profits in lieu of salary or perquisites then the company will be entitled to the deduction u/s 37(1). (xiv) After discussing the above principal, the matter was restored to the Ld. AO. 21.It is submitted that in AY 2013-14 to AY 2015-16 the material shows that in any case the minimum lock in period is period of 5- year service. The policy was commenced on 31.03.2012. The policy was issued on 03.04.2012. The lock in period expiries on 31.03.2017. Therefore, for AY 2013-14 to AY 2015-16 the company is the beneficiary. The decision relied upon by the Ld. DR in case of Mahendra Patel Builders Pvt Ltd. supports the case of the appellant that the expenditure cannot be disallowed u/s 37(1).
Without prejudice to the claim on merits barring this assessment years pending before Hon'ble Tribunal and one year before the Ld. CIT(A), NFAC in all subsequent years the claim has been accepted. Details of intimations u/s 143(1) which are available on Income tax portal are as follows: Sr.No. AY Returned Assessed Date of Income Income Intimation u/s.143(1) u/s.143(1) 1. 2017-18 3,42,040 3,42,040 07/07/2018 2. 2018-19 25,65,550 Note 1 3. 2019-20 59,24,780 59,24,780 27/11/2019 4. 2020-21 48,04,400 Note 2 5. 2021-22 -5,15,820 -5,15,820 14/06/2022 6. 2022-23 4,66,01,430 4,66,01,430 05/11/2023 7. 2023-24 93,29,800 93,29,800 15/11/2023 8. 2024-25 3,18,52,460 3,18,52,460 19/12/2025 9. 2025-26 60,48,510 60,48,510 12/02/2026
Notes
Intimation u/s143(1) is unable to download from Income Tax Portal.
Intimation u/s 143(1) is not available/visible on the Income Tax Portal.
In view of this the appeals may kindly be allowed.”
Ld. DR while supporting the orders of ld.CIT(A)/NFAC vehemently argued referring to the following written submissions :
“In all the three appeals under adjudication, one of the issues involved is disallowance of claim of insurance premium 'hereinafter referred as premium' against Employees Long Forms Reward by the AO concerned as well as Ld. CIT(A) NFAC. All the three cases were reopened on the basis of findings arrived at in AY 2016-17 that the assesse company has paid the premiums for the policies taken in the names of Mrs Pratibha Prasad Bhagwat and Mrs Manjiri Shirish Puntambekar. Subsequently, the said premiums were claimed by the assesse company as business expenditure u/s 37(1) of the Act. Upon perusal of the findings of the AO, it is observed that the insurance premiums for the two directors were paid by the assesse company but the ultimate beneficiary of the maturity benefits / premature claims will be the legal heirs/family members appointed at the option of two directors. The conditions / explanations to the policy are designed in such a manner that policy benefits will not be going to benefit the assesse company under any circumstances. The AO has concluded that the Policy document and Endorsement are in the name of director individuals. Further, the Ld. CIT(A) has given his findings that the assesse company has taken policies in the name of directors for an annual premium totaling to Rs 21,00,000/- and debited the same in the P&L a/c as business expenditure wholly and exclusively incurred for the purpose of business. No other employees of the appellant company has been provided or included in the Employer Employee Reward Policies under the Long Term Reward Programme. This act itself establishes the intension of the appellant company to provide undue benefits to its directors and other employees. Further the premium paid is not a business expenditure of the appellant company particularly when the appellant does not consider it as a perquisite in the hands of the directors concerned and the directors concerned have not offered the same to taxation. The undersigned puts his reliance on the decisions in the cases of Allu Arvind Babu V/s ACIT NC Circle 20(1) Chennai 122 taxmann.com 66 (Madra HC) and Mahendra Patel Builders (P) Ltd V/s DCIT 177 taxmann.com 302 (Ahmedabad Tribunal) wherein it Arya Electronics & Control (Pvt.) Ltd.
has been held that when policies issued on the lives of directors purely in their capacity, there was no statutory bar in treating premiums as deductible u/s 37(1) of the Act. Hence, accordingly it is prayed that the decision of the Ld. CIT(A) be upheld.”
We have heard the rival submissions and perused the record placed before. We have also carefully gone through the decisions relied on by both the parties. The sole issue for our consideration is whether the ld.CIT(A) was justified in confirming the action of the Assessing Officer denying the deduction for Employee Long Term Reward insurance premium paid by the company in the name of three Directors as deductible business expenditure u/s.37(1) of the Act. In order to adjudicate this issue, we will first to proceed to reproduce the finding of ld.CIT(A) affirming the action of the Assessing Officer and the same reads as follows :
“6. I have gone through the assessment order and the grounds of appeal, and written submission of the appellant in respect of the grounds of appeal. As seen from the assessment order, the case was reopened on the basis of the findings arrived at in A.Y. 2016-17 that during the course of scrutiny assessment in response to the specific queries raised in respect of employee Long Term Reward Insurance of Rs.21,00,000/-, the appellant company submitted the details of employee Long Term Reward Insurance of Rs.21,00,000/- claimed to be paid by the company taken in the names of Mrs Pratibha Prasad Bhagwat (taken during AY 2013-14) and Mrs Manjiri Shirish Puntambekar (taken during AY 2013-14), which resulted into reduction of its business income due to the claim of this insurance premium against Employees Lo. forms Reward (Insurance) at Rs.21,00,000/- in the profit & loss account for the assessment year 2016-17, which the AO disallowed. Further, as per audit report & ITR filed for the A.Y 2013-14, it is seen that, similar facts exists and the assessee has claimed expenses of Rs.21,00,000/- towards employee long term reward insurance for the entire assessment year also.
1 Based on the above findings, the AO formed reason to believe and after recording satisfaction and after obtaining necessary sanction from the competent authority i.e. the Pr.CIT, notice u/s 148 of the Act was issued to the appellant. The appellant filed its Arya Electronics & Control (Pvt.) Ltd.
objection against the reopening proceedings and placing reliance on judicial precedents. The AO rejected the objection and placing rebuttal to the judicial decisions relied upon by the appellant. The appellant did not furnish its return of income in response to notice issued u/s 148 of the Act, hence the AO proceeded to complete the assessment u/s 144 of the Act. After considering the details furnished by the appellant and after a detailed discussion on the issue in question, disallowed the expenses claimed at Rs. 21,00,000/- towards employee long term reward insurance for the reason that no such polices were made available to the employees other the 3 directors of the appellant company and in the event of any miss-happening or uneventful occurrence or unforeseen eventualities, no benefit of the policy is derived by the company as the nominees/beneficiaries are family members of the directors. Aggrieved with the assessment order, the appellant is in appeal with 5 grounds of appeal, which are adjudicated as under: 7 Grounds of appeal No.1 & 2 pertain to the disallowance of Rs.21,00,000/- made by the AO. During the appellate proceedings, the appellant has submitted that the appellant company had applied for Employer Employee Reward Policies under Long term Reward Programme defined as Employer employee Insurance Scheme as per the norms defined by the Government of India. Out of the options available under the scheme, the appellant opted for "employee is the owner of the policy without any restriction." From the beginning, the premiums were paid from the company's account. The appellant has further contended that the policy was issued in the name of Individual and it was advised by the HDFC Life Authorities to immediately assign the policy in the name of the appellant company. The policy has lock-in-period or 5 years. The appellant has also argued that these premiums were deductible u/s 37 of the I.T. Act as business expenditure.
1 The contention of the appellant has lacs. First of all, the policy is not a Keyman Insurance Policy and same has been admitted by the appellant during the assessment proceedings before the AO. The appellant company had taken 3 polices in the name of three directors for an annual premium of Rs.7,00,000/- each totaling to Rs.21,00,000/- and debited the same in the profit & loss account as business expenditure wholly and exclusively incurred for the purpose of business. No other employees of the appellant company has been provided or included in the Employer Employee Reward Policies under Long term Reward Programme. This act itself establishes he intension of the appellant company to provide undue benefits to its directors and no other employees. Further the premium paid is not a business expenditure of the appellant company particularly when the appellant does not consider it as a perquisite in the hands of the concerned director. The AO had thoroughly examined the policy documents and the infirmities noticed/observed by him are discussed in para 7, page 7 to 10 of the assessment order. In my considered view, the AO is justified in disallowing the claim of the appellant of Rs.21,00,000/-. Hence, the grounds of appeal No.1 & 2 are dismissed.
Ground No.3 & 4 relate to initiation of proceedings u/s 147 r.w.s. 148 of the Act. During the appellate proceedings, the appellant has argued that all material facts where fully and truly disclosed by the appellant and hence the initiation of proceedings u/s 147/148 of the Act is without juri iction. In the instance case, no scrutiny assessment was completed u/s 143(3) of the Act prior to initiating the proceedings u/s 147 of the Act. The return filed by the appellant was processed u/s 143(1) of the Act. Therefore, the contention of the appellant that all material facts where fully and truly disclosed by the appellant and hence the initiation of proceedings u/s 147/148 of the Act is without juri iction, is without any merits. The AO had also issued notice u/s 148 of the Act after obtaining necessary approval / sanction from the competent authority i.e Pr.CIT concerned. The appellant also challenged the reopening before the AO during the initiation of proceedings u/s 147 of the Act, which was disposed off by the AO. Therefore, there can be no question of not giving approval/giving approval in a mechanical way. The appellant did not file any evidence to controvert this fact, or to substantiate that the notice was issued prior to the obtaining of approval of the competent authority.
1 It is also observed from the assessment order that in the case at hand after receiving the notice under section 148 of the Act, the compliance was not made to the said notice within the stipulated time but made compliance to the notices issued u/s 142(1) of the Act. It is also important to note that the AO has duly disposed off the objections raised by the appellant on reasons to believe through a detailed order thereby complying with the requirements as stipulated by the judgement of Hon'ble Supreme Court in the case of G.K.N. Drive Shaft (SC). In view of these facts, I find that these grounds do not have any merit and therefore, grounds No. 3 & 4 are dismissed.”
We note that the assessee has taken additional grounds challenging the assessment proceedings stating them to be bad in law because the claim has been allowed in the scrutiny assessment for A.Y. 2012-13 and there being no change in the facts and law ld. Assessing Officer erred in reopening which amounts to ‘change of opinion’. We note that ld. Assessing Officer had reason to believe for the escapement of income for the impugned assessment years based on the information observed during the course of assessment proceedings carried out for A.Y. 2016-17 which concluded on 23.11.2018. During the course of scrutiny proceedings for A.Y. 2016-17 very same issue was under examination where Long Term Reward Insurance of Rs.21.00 lakh paid for the policy taken in the names of three of its Directors claimed as business expenditure. Ld. Assessing Officer based on the examination of policy documents came to a conclusion that the premium paid by the assessee company is in the nature of perquisite to be taxed in the hands of respective Directors because there was no benefit to the company from taking these policies and they are clearly not Keyman insurance policies under which the assessee company could claim the insurance premium as an expenditure because the benefit only accrues/receivable to the company taking the Keyman Insurance for its employees. It is note worthy that after detailed examination of facts for A.Y. 2016-17 ld. Assessing Officer proceeded to reopen the assessments for the impugned assessment years.
So far as the contention of the assessee that for A.Y. 2012-13 ld. Assessing Officer has accepted the contention of the assessee for the very same issue and allowed the expenditure, we find that principles of res judicata does not apply strictly to the income tax proceedings because each assessment year is an independent and distinct unit. The decision or finding for one assessment year does not legally bind the income tax authorities or the taxpayer in subsequent year. Tax rates, facts and circumstances are changed from year to year. It is also well settled that Income tax proceedings are quasi-judicial in nature rather than traditional court processes, meaning they are not strictly bound by the principle of res judicata when new filings are examined. In the Arya Electronics & Control (Pvt.) Ltd.
present case, ld. Assessing Officer based on the information gathered in scrutiny proceedings carried out for A.Y. 2016-17 and after having deeply examined the Long Term Reward Insurance policies observed that excess expenditure has been claimed in the form of Insurance premium at Rs.21.00 lakh. We note that based on the outcome of assessment proceedings for A.Y. 2016-17, reasons recorded for reopening the impugned assessment years were duly supplied to the assessee and a speaking order has been passed rejecting the assessee’s objections and the non applicability of judicial pronouncements. Admittedly, the reassessment proceedings have been carried out beyond four years but within the prescribed time limit of six years and ld. Assessing Officer had necessary information in the form of policy documents and various conditions mentioned therein indicating that assessee has claimed excess expenditure. It can be the claim of the assessee that claim has been made in the Income Tax Return and books of account are duly audited but then audited financial statements cannot by itself explain each and every transaction carried out by the assessee during the year. It is only when a particular issue is examined in depth then only the facts of that particular issue comes into picture and a view is taken.
Further, on perusal of the assessment order for A.Y. 2012-13, we not that the only issue relating to disallowance u/s.14A has been discussed and the issue of Long Term Reward Insurance premium is not appearing however, the assessee has claimed that vide letter dated 29.10.2014 a note has been given about the employer Long Term Reward Program but in the said letter only general information has been given about the policy. But it is not mentioned that whether the policy documents and the terms and conditions provided in the insurance policy have been filed. It is quite possible that based on the simple submission of the assessee ld. Assessing Officer has not examined the issue in depth and accepted the claim. However, as referred above that principles of res judicata is not applicable in the income tax proceedings and more particularly in the case of reopening for A.Y. 2012- 13 where a particular opinion has been taken and had this reopening been carried out for A.Y. 2012-13 then certainly it would have tantamounted to ‘change of opinion’. The instant A.Ys. 2013-14 and 2014-15 under appeal have not come up for any scrutiny proceedings u/s.143(3) in the past therefore there was no occasion for the Assessing Officer to examine this issue. So far as A.Y. 2015-16 is concerned, assessee has passed through scrutiny proceedings u/s.143(3) of the Act and in the assessment only reference is regarding the disallowance u/s.14A of the Act. Further, the assessee has not filed any records demonstrating that very same issue has been examined by the ld. Assessing Officer and that whether any information was specifically asked for and whether any reply was given regarding the alleged issue of claim of expenditure for premium paid for Long Term Reward Insurance policy. Had the assessee given any such reply then certainly the same should have formed part of the paper book similar to the submissions made for A.Y. 2012-13. Therefore, considering the given facts and circumstances of the case, we are of the considered view that accepting of the claim for A.Y. 2012-13 would not by itself tantamount to ‘change of opinion’ for Arya Electronics & Control (Pvt.) Ltd.
carrying out re-assessment proceedings for the years under appeal and since ld. Assessing Officer has recorded valid reasons for the alleged escapement of income and has addressed the objections by way of passing a speaking order, in our considered view valid reopening proceedings have been carried out in the impugned assessment years. Therefore, assessee fails to succeed on the additional grounds challenging the validity of assessment proceedings.
We now take up the main grounds of appeal. We observe that through Ground No.7 assessee has challenged the re- assessment proceedings stating that notice u/s.148 of the Act is not with the approval u/s.151 of the Act. We firstly note that the assessee has not filed any copy of notice u/s.148 of the Act and secondly there is no application filed by the assessee before the lower authorities seeking copy of approval. Even during the course of assessment proceedings assessee has duly participated and never raised the issue of copy of approval u/s.151 of the Act. During the course of hearing, ld. Counsel for the assessee has not referred to any show cause notice u/s.148 of the Act and it seems that the assessee has not raised this ground with full supporting documents and preparation and in the absence of any proper submissions on this ground the same is hereby dismissed.
Now coming to the merits of the case which relates to disallowance of Rs.21.00 lakh claimed u/s.37(1) of the Act which has been incurred towards the premium paid for the policies taken from The HDFC Life in the names of three directors of the company under the plan HDFC SL ProGrowth Flexi and premium payable for 15 years and the basic sum assured is Rs.2.00 crore for each of the Director. These policies have been taken in April 2012 and premium of Rs.21.00 lakh (Rs.7.00 lakh each for three Directors) has been paid and claimed as expenditure u/s.37(1) of the Act. Now the assessee is claiming that these policies have been taken in the names of these three Directors because they are the key employees of the company and that in order to retain them in the company for a longer period and that they should not dis- associate from the company, this policy has been taken. It is also claimed that only for the first five years in case of any event happening, i.e. employee leaves the company or on event of death, the benefit if any in the form of surrender value of the policy would be received by the assessee company. Based on these submissions also, it is claimed that the impugned assessment years fall in the category of first five years and since the benefits are accruing to the assessee company, the same should be allowed as an expenditure.
We observe that during the course of hearing when it was asked whether the policy taken is Keyman Insurance policy, ld. Counsel for the assessee fairly accepted that it is not Keyman Insurance policy. We note that Keyman Insurance policies is purchased by the employer company on the life of its vital and essential employees, founder or leader to protect against financial loss, if that person passes away or becomes disabled and the company pays the premium of the policy and receives the cash payouts if the essential employee dies or suffers major disability. Such Keyman Insurance contributes to the continuation of successful business operations and Arya Electronics & Control (Pvt.) Ltd.
cover up other inconsistencies during stressful scenario. Under the Keyman Insurance policy the benefit if any arising are only received by the Employer, i.e. Company. Since it is accepted that the present policy is taken by the assessee company in the name of its three Directors is not a Keyman Insurance policy, we now move on to examine the conditions mentioned in the policy document in question and whether there is any benefit accruing to the assessee company or not.
We observe that ld. Assessing Officer has thoroughly examined the policy documents and the same are also placed on before us which we have also examined. On perusal, we find that assessee company is not a beneficiary at all and the ultimate beneficiary is the Director or the nominee mentioned in the policy by the Director whose name the Director has nominated. Such policy premium suggests that it is HDFC SL ProGrowth Flexi. It is basically Equity linked life policy where the funds are invested into the Equity market. Further in pages of the policy document and particularly clause (a) of the policy document, it is mentioned that if the employed Director continues to remain in employment with the company for a minimum lock in period specified under the Long Term Reward Program this insurance policy shall be compulsorily reassigned absolutely by the company in favour of the Director. Further in clause (b) it is mentioned that in case of termination of employment for reasons other than death, the company will surrender the policy to HDFC Standard Life Insurance Com Ltd. for the surrender value. Further, clause (c) provides that during the minimum lock in period in case of claim arising due to death, the claim proceeds will be paid to the legal heirs appointed by the Director as per the company records. Same is the situation in case of critical illness the benefits will be payable to the employee only. Though at the cost of repetition, we taken note of the following observations of ld. Assessing Officer made with regard to the Director Manjari S. Puntambekar which reads as follows :
POLICY TAKEN IN THE NAME OF MANJARI S PUNTAMBEKAR
As per the Insurance policy document (only proposal acceptance letter dated 26.09.2012 and Confirmation of assignment letter dated 18.09.2012 submitted out of 24 pages full policy document) of Mrs Manjiri Shishir Puntambekar, the policy posed to be assigned to M/s Arya Electronics & Controls Pvt Ltd. However, on perusal of terms and conditions of HDFC Confirmation of Assignment" letter dated 18.09.2012, it is clearly written that "Any existing nomination stands cancelled as a result of this Assignment except for policies covered under Employer-Employee-Long Term reward program for employees". Hence, In view of this condition incorporated by HDFC Life in its confirmation of assignment letter that "Any existing nomination for employees", even after assignment in favour of assessee company, the ultimate & undisputable beneficiary remains unchanged i.e. either the LIFE ASSURED Mrs Manjiri Shishir Puntambekar or NOMINEE in the case claim arises due to any mis- happening to the Life assured as the policy is taken under "Employer- Employee-Long Term reward program for employees".
The policy is the Unit Linked Insurance plan and not a Term Insurance plan. Hence, the conditions/explanation as per points (i) to (viii) are designed/framed in such a manner that the policy benefits will not going to benefit the assessee company under any circumstances.
As per Insurance policy terms and conditions as detailed above, the legal nominee/ultimate beneficiary is Mrs Manjiri Shishir Puntambekar & Mrs Pratibha Prasad Bhagwat with all maturity benefits legally vested to the nominees and not to the assessee company in all the conditions. Further, in case of any mis- happening to the Life assured, all the benefits will legally passed on to the nominee/ultimate beneficiary and not to the assessee company. The assessee company/employer is entitled to claim premium payment towards keyman insurance policy as business expenditure only when the assessee company/employer is the ultimate beneficiary of maturity benefits/premature claim arises out in the case of any mis-happening to keyman or the policy is an actual Keyman Insurance policy in true sprits. However, in the Arya Electronics & Control (Pvt.) Ltd.
present case, the policy is not a "Keyman Insurance policy" with third person as legal/ultimate beneficiary and not the assessee company in the case of maturity/premature claim under all the possible conditions. Hence, the premium payment of Rs.21,00,000/- should not allowed as business expenditure within the meaning of section 37(1) of IT Act claimed in the assessment year under consideration.
Furthermore, Section 39 of the Indian Insurance Act, 1938, provides for nomination of a person (called nominee) who gets the benefits of the policy on death of the person whose life has been insured. Nomination can be done in policies where the proposer and the person whose life has been insured are the same i.e. the policies taken by individuals. A nominee is usually chosen while buying the policy by providing details in the proposal form. Also, it is possible to do it any time during the tenure of the policy. Nomination prevents disputes and delays in settlement of death claims. Thus, correct nomination establishes clear title to the policy at the time of the unfortunate event within the purview of policy conditions. In the present case, as per insurance policy document and policy proposal form, it is seen that the word "Nominee" is duly incorporated, which again substantiate that the proposer is not the assessee company and the policy is taken under individual capacity.
As far as Keyman Insurance Policies are concerned, these are taken by the employer on the life of Keyman with clear mention of Employer as Proposer & ultimate beneficiary (nominee) and Life Insured as Keyman on the face of the policy. However, in the present case, the assessee has itself claimed that these policies are not keyman insurance policies. In view of the above discussion, expenses to the tune of Rs 21,00,000/- (Employee long term reward insurance) under the head 'Employee benefit expenses' are disallowed and added back to the income of the assessee. Penalty proceedings u/s 271(1)(c) for furnishing inaccurate particulars of income are also initiated separately.
A show cause notice with the proposed additions was sent to the assessee on 02.09.2021 and in reply, the assessee has again reiterated his earlier submissions regarding his objections to the reopening of assessment proceedings u/s 147 as reproduced in para 6.1 above. As already sated above, the FAO, vide annexure to notice u/s 142(1) dated 08.02.2021, informed the assessee that polices under section 148 has been issued within the stipulated time as per section 151 of the Income-tax Act, 1961 and laid out the relevant facts to dispose of the objections filed by the assessee. The rebuttal to the assessee's contentions is already discussed in the Para 6.2, 6.3, 7, 7.1 and 7.2 above. Thus, the assessee has failed to file any acceptable reply and has not produced any fresh evidence in support of his contentions.”
We further take note of the finding of ld.CIT(A) who has rightly observed that the policy is not Keyman Insurance policy and no other employees of the assessee company has been provided or included by the Employer in the Long Term Reward Policy Program which indicates that the benefit is only restricted to the Directors of the assessee company and the intention of the assessee company is to provide undue benefit to the Directors and not to the other employees. We also find that the present insurance policies have survived the lock in period and are active and probably will mature in the year 2027 and all benefits will be received by the Insured/Nominee/Legal heir but not the assessee company. We therefore under the given facts and circumstances find that policy taken by the assessee company in the name of its Directors is firstly not a type of Keyman Insurance policy and secondly no benefit is arising or payable to the assessee company and therefore it is purely in the nature of perquisite given to its employees which should have been added in the hands of respective employees and had the assessee company added them under the head perquisites in the name of particular Directors then certainly assessee’s claim should have been allowed but as ld. Counsel for the assesee has stated that the same has not been added as income/perquisites in the hands of respective Directors, therefore, on merits we are inclined to hold that the alleged expenditure is not a business expenditure and Arya Electronics & Control (Pvt.) Ltd.
therefore not allowable u/s.37(1) of the Act. Grounds of appeal raised by the assessee on merits are dismissed.
Since the issue for A.Y. 2014-15 and A.Y. 2015-16 remains same, our decision taken in A.Y. 2013-14 shall apply mutatis mutandis to these assessment years as well. We accordingly dismiss the grounds of appeal taken by the assessee for both the assessment years and confirm the findings of ld.CIT(A).
To sum up, all the appeals of the assessee are dismissed as per terms indicated hereinabove.
Order pronounced on this 16th day of September, 2026. (VINAY BHAMORE) ACCOUNTANT MEMBER पुणे / Pune; दिन ांक / Dated : 16th September, 2026. Satish Satish Kumar Kumar Madishetty Madishetty Date: 2026.09.16 17:24:56 +05'30'
आदेश की प्रतिलिपि अग्रेपिि / Copy of the Order forwarded to : अपील र्थी / The Appellant. 1. प्रत्यर्थी / The Respondent.
The Pr. CIT concerned. विभ गीय प्रतितनधि, आयकर अपीलीय अधिकरण, “A” बेंच, 4. पुणे / DR, ITAT, “A” Bench, Pune. ग र्ड फ़ इल / Guard File. 5. आिेश नुस र / BY ORDER, ////
More judgments on Section 37(1)
- Gillette India Limited, Mumbai vs Principal Commissioner of Income Tax, JaipurITA 1316/JPR/2026[2018-19]Status: Disposed16 Oct 2026AY 2018-19
- Smit Navnitlal Soni, Ahmedabad, Gujarat vs ITO Ward-5(3)(1), Ahmedabad, GujaratITA 1434/AHD/2026[2021-22]Status: Disposed16 Oct 2026AY 2021-22
- Shobha Sudamrao Tagad, Ahmednagar vs ITO WD-1, AhmednagarITA 311/PUN/2026[2023-24]Status: Disposed13 Oct 2026AY 2023-24
- Digjam Limited, Jamnagar vs The Principal Commissioner of Income Tax…ITA 349/RJT/2025[2021-22]Status: Disposed12 Oct 2026AY 2021-22
- Rajesh Maru, Mhow vs ITO-5(1), IndoreITA 839/IND/2025[2023-2024]Status: Disposed12 Oct 2026AY 2023-2024
Recent GST High Court judgments
Search GST case law →- Dillip Kumar Behera vs. The Assistant Commissioner Of State Tax, Mayurbhanj CircleOrissa · 15 Oct 2026
- M/S. Kalinga Paper Mart, Sundergarh vs. Commissioner Of CT And GST, CuttackOrissa · 15 Oct 2026
- Kabita Nayak vs. Chief Commissioner, CGST, Central Excise And Customs, KhurdaOrissa · 15 Oct 2026
- Swastika Ingot PVT.LTD, Sundargarh vs. The Addl Commissioner, GST And Central Excise, BhubaneswarOrissa · 15 Oct 2026
- M/S Basudev Logistics, Jagatsinghpur vs. Principal Commissioner, CGST And Central Excise, BhubaneswarOrissa · 15 Oct 2026